Sarah PerryImage Gallery

Contact Details

Studio: 55 Annandale Road, Greenwich, London, UK, SE10 ODE. View in Google Maps
Telephone: +44(0)208 858 2663
Email:
Web-site: www.sarahperrypottery.co.uk
Availability: At home at the address above. Ring for appointment.
Joined on: 2008-09-18
Last Updated: 2016-10-14

Artist's Statement

Artist's Statement

Sarah Perry trained at Camberwell Art School where her teachers were Lucie Rie and Hans Coper. she gained a b.a. hons. in ceramics. In the seventies she lived and worked in Argentina, exhibiting in Buenos Aires in-between journeys round South America. In October 1995, a piece of her work was auctioned at the American Craft Museum in New York. In January 2002 she was commissioned to make 85 pieces for the Sandy Lane Hotel, Barbados. All through the nineties her work was sold at the Conran shops and Liberty and Heals
She now lives and works in Greenwich, London.

"I am a potter because I enjoy the basic feel of clay, its versatility and the actual making process. Its type of plasticity is not found in any other medium. It can be stopped at any point and made permanent by firing, rather like the stones under one's feet.

Current / Future Events

Current / Future Events

Porthminster Gallery : IT'S A GIFT - CHRISTMAS SHOWCASE
November 05, 2016 to January 07, 2017

Millinery Works, The : In Situ - with Christmas in Mind
November 15, 2016 to December 18, 2016

Current Work

Current Work

One–off stoneware vessels,slab built and thrown. Also a range of lustred porcelain jewellery.

Work Generally Available from:
New Ashgate Gallery
Twenty Twenty Contemporary Art Gallery
Ropewalk Contemporary Art and Craft Barton-on–Humber N.Lincs
Porthminster Gallery, St Ives, Cornwall porthminstergallery.co.uk
Leeds Craft and Design Gallery craftcentreleeds.co.uk
Beside the Wave Falmouth beside-the-wave.co.uk
Lander Gallery, Truro, Cornwall landergallery.co.uk
Robert Fogell, Stamford, Lincolnshire robfogell.co.uk
Northern Lights Gallery, Keswick, Cumbria thenorthernlightsgallery.co.uk
Stark Gallery, Canterbury, Kent thestarkgallery.com
Blue Bramble Gallery, St.Ives, Cornwall bluebramblegallery.co.uk
Galleria Luti, Callander, Scotland gallerialuti.co.uk
The Millinery Works, Islington, London millineryworks.co.uk
Tinca Gallery, Portishead, Bristol tincagallery.co.uk
Tayberry Gallery, Princes St, Perth tayberrygallery.com

Technical Information

Technical Information

I work in stoneware and porcelain fired in an oxidising atmosphere to 1280 degrees centigrade and make thrown and hand-built pots decorated with glazes of intense blues, turquoise, purples, pinks, and greens. On some pieces I use metallic lustres and refire to 780 degrees centigrade.

Exhibition History

Exhibition History

2016 - Beside the Wave : Falmouth and London, 20 YEAR ANNIVERSARY COLLECTION (30th September - 13th October) (8-10 Arwenack Street, Falmouth, Cornwall, TR11 3JA and London, 41 Chalcot Road, London, NW1 8LS) www.beside-the-wave.co.uk

2015 - (November) GALERIE ROSENHAUER in GOTTINGEN, GERMANY, www.galerie-rosenhauer.de
2012 - An exhibition with painter Helen Rogers, (September 24 - October 9) The Millinery Works Gallery, 87 Southgate Road, Islington, London, N1 3JS UK - www.millineryworks.co.uk 
2007 - September, Coningsby Gallery with painter Helen Rogers.

Work Styles

Work Styles

Stoneware
Porcelain
Lustreware
Wax Resist
Sgraffito
Handbuilt
Dry Matt
Wall Panels, Plaques
Kitchen & Tableware
Jewellery
Oxidation